Ketsana: the Aftermath

28Sep09

As I write this post, I’m speechless and my heart is wrecked just like our furnitures caused by Typhoon Ketsana. It was the worst calamity I’ve ever witnessed and experienced. My heart is broken not because I lost my bed, cabinet and some of our house furnitures but because I feel bad seeing other people suffer, lost their properties and worst of all their lives.

Yes, me and my family were never spared from this disaster. Flood water came through our house almost waist deep. It even came to a point that we have to abandon the house because we don’t own a 2nd floor and there’s no higher place to go to. It was a nonstop rain that lasted for almost 24 hrs that made me even imagine that it was like history repeating itself just like the story of Noah. Sure,after the storm, the whole day cleaning was a pain in the as* and even up to this day, the house is still a total mess with containers piled and chairs unorganized, but I still would like keep a positive outlook on things.

I admit it’s not easy to see the goodness of things especially at times like this that I myself have experienced it first hand and see things unveil itself before me. But I choose to feel thankful and teach myself with the lessons I learned from this experience.

With this I will continue to thank God for the following, for I am still lucky despite everything:

  • my family was kept safe despite that we have to swim flood water more than waist deep
  • We we’re able to save most of our belongings except our huge furnitures.
  • We had enough(or even more than enough) food and clean water to keep us energized during the 2 day calamity

I will continue to be thankful for God had given me another day to live. Let us also continue to pray for the people who lost their properties and lives.

Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

ps. I’m keeping my hands clasped in a prayerful manner for I had heard that there’s another storm hitting the country again soon. Let’s hope and pray for the safety of everyone.

2 Responses to “Ketsana: the Aftermath”

  1. I’m glad you’re safe. When flood came into our house, I thought of you, coz we live very near each other, but thank God we’re all safe. The furnitures can be replaced, it will be, in double =)

    • thanks dang! funny, I actually thought of you too! I imagine you again wearing garbage bags around your legs! ahaha.

      but I really thank God for keeping everyone safe! See you soon sis!


Leave a Reply

