Sonya’s Garden: a non-organic foodie point of view

18Dec09

I just have to make this post just before the weekend hits again. Or else, the photos I took will (again) long be forgotten.

Sonya’s Garden is a bed and breakfast located in the highland of Tagaytay. It offers organic greens handpicked fresh from their garden.  As stated from their site:

Sonya offers a timeless organic menu that includes greens handpicked from her garden and freshly baked bread from her Panaderia. Pasta is also served with three choices of sauce; sundried tomatoes, chicken cream with mangoes and ratatouille.  Guests can opt to have additional entree included in the fixed menu, like Rosemary Chicken and Salmon with capers. A gourmet Filipino menu is also available upon special request (see the menus page).

I’ve always wanted to pay a visit to Sonya’s Garden but since it’s not reachable via public transportation, I just have to wait the chance fate has to offer. Luckily, G&S picked their reception to be held on this quaint venue – Sonya’s.

I’m not really into organic food but let me give you my thoughts on what Sonya’s Garden has to offer.

Appetizer

For starters, we were served with fresh bread accompanied with different spreads.

Fresh baked whole wheat sesame bread with an array of homemade dips and toppings: basil pesto, white cheese, anchovies, bruschetta tomato toppings. mushroom pate, black olive tapinade and fresh green peppercorn in olive oil.

Fresh bread served with different spreads

Together, I liked the “kesong puti” and the fresh tomatoes the most, and to be honest they were the only thing I remembered at this point. The bread on the other hand was soft and could be eaten alone without any spreads.

Freshly harvested lettuce and arugula topped with mango, broad beans, eggs, cucumber, jackfruit, pineapple, edible flowers in season, etc., drizzled with Sonya’s Secret Dressing or Balsamic Vinegar/extra virgin olive oil.

Create your own salad

I believe the fruits that they serve also varies from time to time, depending on what’s available on season. If I remember correctly we were served with melon and no jack fruit was spotted. But the mango and pineapple were there. I was able to appreciate the salad accompanied with balsamic vinegar. Their balsamic vinegar was thick compared to the balsamic vinegar I’m used to. It has the expected taste of tanginess. I don’t eat mayonnaise in any form, so I didn’t tried the Sonya’s secret dressing. Sorry!

Main

For the main, pasta was served with different kind of sauces. Basically, this was also a create your own entree.

With two kinds of sauces and toppings: sun dried tomato and chicken cream with mango. Topped with ratatouille, salmon belly, shitake mushrooms, black olives, capers and grated parmesan cheese, pepperoncini.

Pasta

from L-R : ratatouille, chicken cream and sundried tomatoes

Salmon belly

When eating pastas, I prefer the creamy sauce over the tomato sauce so I indulged into the chicken cream sauce, coupled with Shitake mushrooms. I didn’t know that the ratatouille was supposed to be mixed in, so I ate them separately. The cream sauce was super thick and has a hint of sweetness to it. The ratatouille on the other hand was sour and salty. I don’t know what it’s made of , but I’m guess tomatoes, and olive oil too!

We were also served with roast chicken, which is btw, a special order and not included in their set menu

Roast Chicken

Nothing special on their roast chicken, in fact, in my opinion, it was dry and lacks moisture.

Dessert

Glazed sweet  potato ,  banana rolls with sesame & jackfruit, and smashingly sinful homemade chocolate cake from the Panaderia (enjoy with mint leaves).

Moist Chocolate Cake + Taragon Tea

The chocolate cake was very moist and not too overwhelming since it was served in thin slices.  I like the chocolate icing which tasted bitter sweet. I didn’t try the banana rolls and sweet potato since I think they just looked ordinary and nothing really interesting in them.

Drinks

Bottomless freshly squeezed dalandan juice (local orange) and tarragon tea

Red Wine

For special order, you can also have white/red wine to accompany the meal. The freshly squeezed dalandan juice was superb. I actually had almost 3-4 glasses of it. It tasted sweet-sour. And on the other hand, I’m not really a hot tea person, I didn’t actually liked the tarragon tea.

Overall

From a non organic person point of view, I would rate it 8 out of 10. Why? The dishes were in no doubt fresh and unique. And where can you find that in the city eh? And I guess, the only thing I didn’t liked was their chicken, which I really don’t know if it even was organic or not.

*Menu descriptions were from their site. You can visit the full menu here.

4 Responses to “Sonya’s Garden: a non-organic foodie point of view”

  1. I should pay them a visit, and knowing Sonya’s, the chicken is probably organic too. =)

    • You should! you’ll love it there, knowing you like organic stuff! yes, most probably the chicken is organic. (but my friend said its not, so im not really sure.LOL)

  2. Hi Karen, Nikki here of Askmewhats.com.

    Congratulations! You are the winner of my ELF studio brush set! Please email me at ntiu1027 at gmail dot com for your full name and mailing info :)

    Merry Christmas :)
    Nice site you have here


Leave a Reply

