Focus on yourself and never look sideways.

28Jan10

Life has been frustrating at the same time depressing for me lately. Most of the people around me are climbing up the corporate ladder, reaching their dreams, doing what they love the most, as if the heavens agrees with them always.

I am caught in this depressing situation over and over. Getting sad, seeing myself on the same 8-5 job. Repetitive at most times. Comparing my life with others, self pity then brush my shoulders off and go.

But last night was different,  I knew deep inside me that I should do something about it.  So I stopped, inhale, exhale,  pondered and prayed.  And yes, I know God told me  the answer — something to keep me going.

I have the option to just keep it to myself. Keep a grin on my face while other people wonder what I am so happy  and motivated about. But I choose to share it through this writing because I want to inspire, to share the positivity,  and hopefully you (the reader) can pass it forward. It is true that if we surround ourselves with positive people, we inherit the  same positive vibes and see the positive side even in the most smallest of things. Imagine, a world full of positivity? What a lovely world that would be.

Going back, so what keeps me going now?  This quote I came up with:

Focus on yourself and look straight forward. Don’t compare and never look sideways. Remember, God has a unique blueprint of you.

True enough that it is easier to see others than to see ourselves. But have you ever thought that God has a unique plan for you? And that we should never compare lives cause they can never be the same? Once we look sideways it will only pull us back and will never bring us forward.

I would like to compare this piece of thought to a horse on a race. You see, the horse finishes the race because it doesn’t see its opponent – the other horses around him. Rather, its vision is focused on the track, gets its feet dirty and runs faster if needed. We should be like horses on a racetrack, to each is his own lane but we all have common goal, to be happy and fulfilled. We may get tired at times, but we only have two options: to stop or keep running. Again, it is easier to stop, give up and reach nothing. But if we keep running, we come closer to the end, and reach them faster. We need to get focused on our own track and and not on others’. Remember, envy is a sin and we should never dwell on it.

6 Responses to “Focus on yourself and never look sideways.”

  1. Great realization sis, you have inspired a lot of people with this, including me. Envy is really a bitch, and it will come in your weakest moments! So thanks for sharing this…and if you don’t mind, I want to repost this in my blog, of course linking it to yours…pls.? =)

    • Glad to know that sis! Of couse, it would be my pleasure if we can inspire more people with this post, after all, it is my reason why I decided to put my thoughts into writing. Go ahead sis , spread the word. :)

  2. Excellent post Karen!
    Sorry to hear things haven’t been ideal, but it sounds like you are going to do something about it. I like that! Thanks for sharing the positive vibes!

    Brady

    • Thanks brady!

      Like what I’ve mentioned on my post, surrounding yourself with positive people makes your outlook in life positive too. And though I haven’t told you this before, your post are one of those things that inspires me to stay positive. So keep those posts coming. Let’s make the world a better place, one positive post at a time ;)

  3. Inspiring, sis. Keep writing. :)


Leave a Reply

