Hala Bira (Ati-Atihan 2011)

25Jan11

Ati-Atihan 2011

From Kalibo.gov.ph:
Ati-Atihan is making one’s self like the Ati or Aeta or pretending to be one. Kalibo’s  “frenzied and raucous” historical and religious festivity observed every second week and culminating on the 3rd Sunday of January came from that intent. Citizens, tourist and pilgrims in this town smear themselves with soot or any blackening substance to look like an Aeta-queer, but true.

Back from 2008, the first time I was able to witness the Ati-Atihan Festival, I knew from the heart that it is an event that I would love to see again and again. Fast track to this year, 2011, I was back on the same place, on the same day with the same people, celebrating the much awaited festival of the Town, Kalibo’s finest, the Ati-Atihan Festival.

It was a flight that almost got canceled due to bad weather, but thank goodness still, we were able to land Kalibo after  an almost 8 hour delay. The weather for the week was a bit rough, with gradual rain showers and  little sunshine peeking through its way behind the dark clouds.  For days  I got to witness the bad weather, I already kept in mind that I will not be able to take photos, shove my shoulders and off  I go to the street parties without any intention of taking decent photos of the “aetas in costumes”.

Saturday came and the “Tribal Group street dancing” was slated in the morning. I woke up early to check the weather, the clouds were a bit off but gladly, no rain nor drizzle. In fact, the sun did shine for the first time since the day we set our foot on  town. So without a doubt, we head to the town’s center, chased the  aete look alikes covered in black sooth wearing beautifully handcrafted costumes made of natural and indigenous materials.

It was the perfect weather to shoot. The beautifully adorned costumes were complimented by the beautiful weather and right there and there, I knew have to be at my best, and not let my guards down for this wonderful opportunity  to showcase one of the Philippine’s finest culture, Festivals.

Now let me show you some of my favorite takes from this event:
Ati-Atihan 2011

Ati-Atihan 2011

Ati-Atihan 2011

Ati-Atihan 2011

Ati-Atihan 2011

Ati-Atihan 2011

Ati-Atihan 2011

Ati-Atihan 2011

More photos from my Flickr Photoset

2 Responses to “Hala Bira (Ati-Atihan 2011)”

  1. Sis, super brilliant ng colors ng photos mo!!! How do you do that? Is that lens magic or what? Galing! =)

  2. Thanks sis! usually pricey lenses can do that but since I can’t afford them (boo!) , i usually tweak them in Photoshop! =)


Leave a Reply

