Luray Caverns

21Feb11

Luray Caverns

Last year’s business trip brought me to such wonderful places I’ve never expected to see. It was  also the perfect time to focus on honing my landscape photography skills and get my self busy as I don’t want to end up  homesick because I know I’m missing a lot back home.

One of the places I was able to pay visit was the Luray Caverns located in Shenadoah Valley, Virginia.

lifted from wikipedia.com

originally called Luray Cave, is a large, celebrated commercial cave just west of Luray, Virginia, USA, which has drawn many visitors since its discovery in 1878. The underground cavern system is generously adorned with speleothems (columns, mud flows, stalactites, stalagmites, flowstone, mirrored pools, etc.). The caverns are perhaps best known for the Great Stalacpipe Organ, a lithophone made from solenoid fired strikers[citation needed] that tap stalactites of various sizes to produce tones similar to those of xylophones, tuning forks, or bells.

Honestly, I’ve never expected such an amazing venue exists on this place. Why? Probably because it was only 90 minutes away from D.C. which is far too different from the busy city life of Washington.

I am very aware that Philippines have similar spots like this and no doubt I’ve seen at least one (the last I could remember was in Bohol)  but what  makes Luray really remakable, is it spans for kilometers and I bet it would take you at least an hour and half for you to see everything.

In addition, they have developed this place to be very convenient for tourist, such that they’ve provided paved walk ways and believe  it or not, it is even handicapped friendly!

It was very cold inside and  I was not surprised to know that the first air conditioning system was made from the air that is coming from these caverns.

Luray Caverns

It also houses the “Great Stalacpipe Organ” which makes sound by taping the stalactites of different sizes to produce different tones.  This organ actually reminded me of the Bamboo Organ from my hometown Las Piñas, in which their built looks very similar from one another.
Luray Caverns

Visitors were really amazed by the rock formations that resembles different things such as animal, home equipments, and even food like a “sunny side up egg”.  Now, can you identify some familiar  formations from these?

Luray Caverns

Luray Caverns

Luray Caverns

No Responses Yet to “Luray Caverns”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

